About World Bank Treasury  |  FAQ  |  Contact  
|  

Press Releases

中国银行(香港)与世界银行携手宣布发行「中银香港-世界银行新兴市场债券基金」

2012年6月12日,香港 - 中国银行(香港)有限公司(「中银香港」)与世界银行今天宣布推出「中银香港-世界银行新兴市场债券基金」(「此基金」)。此基金不仅标志著中银香港与世界银行首度携手合作,亦是全港首只以中国为主题的全球新兴市场债券基金。此基金中不少於85%的资产净值将投资於由世界银行发行,并以中国在「新兴市场」1及「商品国家」2贸易伙伴货币计值的债务证券。世界银行分别获标准普尔及穆迪给予AAA及Aaa评级,这是该等信贷评级机构给予的最高信贷级别。

中银香港与世界银行今天在中银大厦举行发行仪式。主礼嘉宾包括世界银行中国、蒙古和韩国局局长罗兰德先生、中银香港副董事长兼总裁和广北先生、 中央人民政府驻港联络办公室经济部副部长孙湘一先生、香港特别行政区政府署理财经事务及库务局局长梁凤仪女士、证券及期货事务监察委员会(「证监会」)主席方正博士、中银香港副总裁王仕雄先生及中银香港资产管理有限公司(「中银香港资产管理」)行政总裁区景麟博士。

世界银行资本市场全球主管多丽丝•赫雷拉-波尔女士表示:「我们很荣幸与中国银行(香港)合作,在香港推出首只主要投资於世界银行债券的基金。我们希望此基金的推出开创两家机构长期互惠的合作关係。」

中银香港副总裁王仕雄先生表示:「中银香港很高兴与世界银行携手推出 『中银香港-世界银行新兴市场债券基金』。世界银行一直透过提供专业卓越的金融方案,发挥领导世界才能,协助全球各地减轻贫困及提高生活水平。中银香港与这显赫的合作伙伴有著相同信念,致力向客户及投资者提供优质及多元化的金融产品及服务,为当地经济及社会的持续发展作出贡献。这崭新基金不但糅合两大机构的独特专长,还标志双方积极创新的共同理念。我们会继续在亚洲拓展此基金的销售网络。」

此基金会将其不少於85%的资产净值投资於由世界银行发行,并以「新兴市场」1及「商品国家」2货币计值的固定收益工具,让投资者捕捉这些新兴市场及商品国家货币(兑美元或兑港元)的长期升值潜力。此外,基金会可将其高达15% 的资产净值投资於离岸的中国政府债券及美国国库证券,以维持流动资金及达至主动风险管理的目的。」

中银香港资产管理行政总裁区景麟博士表示:「我们透过与世界银行的策略性合作,令基金可投资於由世界银行(获AAA(标準普尔)/Aaa(穆迪)评级)发行,并主要以新兴市场货币计值的债券。此基金的独特之处有助减低投资於新兴市场当地货币债券的信贷风险。」

区行政总裁续称:「此基金实为投资於高投资级别的新兴市场及商品国家当地货币的债券,具备良好的上升潜力。我们会弹性管理基金,以捕捉投资机遇,同时将波动风险减至最低。」

此基金每日交易。除首六个月不作分派外,随后预计在转付政策下每季派息3

世界银行发行的证券以普通债券或结构性票据的形式发行,可供选择的货币超过50种,并设有多种不同的年期。

此基金已获证监会根据证券及期货条例第104条认可4,港币类别的最低认购金额為港币10,000元,美元类别的最低认购金额则為1,000美元。

由2012年6月14日至7月20日,客户透过中银香港网上银行整额认购任何债券基金达港币500,000元或以上(或其外币等值)可享低至1.5%认购费优惠。

於2012年6月14日至7月20日期间,客户可透过中银香港、南洋商业 银行及集友银行各分行认购此基金。如有查询,请致电中银香港客户服务热线(852) 3988 2388。

註:
1、 属于中国贸易伙伴的新兴市场国家可能包括巴西、智利、哥伦比亚、印度、印尼、马来西亚、菲律宾、俄罗斯、新加坡、南非、南韩、泰国、土耳其及越南,及其他与中国建有国际贸易关係的新兴市场国家。
2、 出口一项或多项商品 (例如原油,天然气、煤、工业金属、贵金属、铁矿石、木材、橡胶、农业及畜牧產品,以及如钢、半导体及合金等产品的原材料) 的国家可能包括澳洲、加拿大、新西兰、挪威及中东国家。
3、 股息分派并无保证,基金经理可全权及酌情决定一般派息政策或任何类别单位的派息。
4、 证监会的认可不等如对任何產品作出推介或认许,亦不是对该產品的商业利弊或表现作出保证,更不代表该產品适合所有投资者,或认许该產品适合任何个别投资者或任何類别的投资者。

世界银行简介

世界银行(「国际复兴开发银行」)分别获标准普尔及穆迪给予AAA及Aaa评级,是一家於1944年成立的国际机构,及由188个国家共同拥有的全球发展合作机构。世界银行向成员国提供融资、专门知识及统筹服务,让成员国在各自的国家经济达至平衡及可持续的经济增长,并寻求有效的方案解决地区以至全球的经济及环保问题。世界银行的最终目标在於大规摸及持续地改善全球各地的生活水平。世界银行在国际资本市场发行债券逾60年,为其活动筹募资金。有关详情,投资者可浏览其财政部网页: (www.worldbank.org/debtsecurities).

 

Back to Press Releases

About World Bank Treasury  |  FAQ  |  Contact  
|  

Press Releases

Bank of China (Hong Kong) and World Bank Jointly Announce the Launch of the “BOCHK - World Bank Emerging Markets Bond Fund”

Hong Kong, June 12, 2012 - Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited (“BOCHK”) and the World Bank today announced the launch of the “BOCHK — World Bank Emerging Markets Bond Fund” (the “Fund”). The Fund is the inaugural cooperative venture of this type between BOCHK and the World Bank and will be the first global emerging market currency bond fund in Hong Kong with a China theme. At least 85% of the Fund's net asset value will be invested in World Bank debt securities denominated in the currencies of China's trading partners in Emerging Markets1 and Commodities Countries2. The World Bank is rated AAA and Aaa by Standard & Poor’s and Moody's respectively, the highest rating possible from those credit rating agencies.

BOCHK and the World Bank held a launch ceremony at the Bank of China Tower today. Officiating guests included Mr Klaus Rohland, Country Director, China, Mongolia and Korea, the World Bank; Mr He Guangbei, Vice Chairman and Chief Executive, Bank of China (Hong Kong); Mr Sun Xiangyi, Deputy Director, Economic Affairs Department of the Liaison Office of the Central People’s Government in HKSAR; Ms Julia Leung, Acting Secretary for Financial Services & the Treasury, HKSAR Government; Dr Eddy Fong, Chairman, Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”); Mr David Wong, Deputy Chief Executive, BOCHK; and Dr Au King Lun, Chief Executive Officer, BOCHK Asset Management Limited (“BOCHK AMC”).

Mr David Wong, Deputy Chief Executive of BOCHK, said: “BOCHK takes pleasure in joining hands with the World Bank in launching the ‘BOCHK – World Bank Emerging Markets Bond Fund’. The World Bank is the global leader in providing financial expertise and solutions to help reduce poverty and improve the standards of living around the world. We, at BOCHK, share with our prestigious partner a common tenet of offering customers and investors an array of quality financial products and services, with a view to contributing to the sustainable development of their local economies and societies. By combining the unique strengths of both institutions, the Fund highlights our shared belief in innovation. We are committed to continuing to expand our distribution network for this Fund in Asia.”

The Fund will invest at least 85% of its net asset value in fixed income securities issued by the World Bank and denominated in the currencies of Emerging Markets1 and Commodity Countries2, allowing investors to capture any long-term potential appreciation of these emerging market and commodities country local currencies (against USD or against HKD). In addition, the Fund can also invest up to 15% of its net asset value in the offshore PRC government bonds and US Treasury bonds for liquidity and active risk management purposes.

Dr Au King Lun, Chief Executive Officer of BOCHK AMC, said: “Leveraging our strategic partnership with the World Bank, the fund will invest in securities issued by the World Bank (AAA (Standard and Poor’s)/Aaa (Moody’s) rated) that are denominated principally in emerging market currencies. The Fund’s unique features enable us to minimise the credit risk in investing in emerging market local currency bonds.”

“This Fund, in effect, invests in high investment grade emerging markets and commodities countries local currency bonds with good upside potential. We will manage the Fund dynamically to capture investment opportunities and minimise volatility risks at the same time,” Dr Au added.

The Fund deals daily. Except for the first six months, it is expected to pay dividends quarterly on a pass-through policy3.

The World Bank has offered securities in over 50 different currencies, with a wide variety of maturities as “plain vanilla” bonds or structured note.

The Fund has been authorised by the SFC pursant to Section 104 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance4, and the minimum subscription amount of the Fund is HKD 10,000 for the HKD class and USD 1,000 for the USD class.

From 14 June until 20 July 2012, customers can enjoy a subscription fee as low as 1.5% for any bond fund subscription in a lump sum amount at HK$500,000 or above (or its equivalent in other foreign currencies) via BOCHK Internet Banking.

The Fund will be on offer from 14 June to 20 July 2012 at any branches of BOCHK, Nanyang Commercial Bank and Chiyu Banking Corporation. For enquiry, please call BOCHK Customer Service Hotline at (852) 3988-2388.

Notes:

1. Emerging market countries that are trading partners of the PRC may include Brazil, Chile, Colombia, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Thailand, Turkey and Vietnam, and other emerging markets with international trading relationships with the PRC.

2. Countries export one or more commodities such as crude oil, natural gas, coal, industrial metals, precious metals, iron ore, lumber, rubber, agricultural and livestock products and raw materials for products such as steel, semi-conductors and alloys and may include Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Norway and Middle East countries.

3. Payment of dividend is of no assurance and the distribution policy may, generally or in respect of any class of units, be varied in the sole and absolute discretion of the Fund Manager from time to time.

4. SFC authorisation is not a recommendation or endorsement of a product nor does it guarantee the commercial merits of a product or its performance. It does not mean the product is suitable for all investors nor is it an endorsement of its suitability for any particular investor or class of investors.

About the World Bank

The World Bank (International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, IBRD), rated Aaa/AAA (Moody’s/S&P), is an international organization created in 1944. It operates as a global development cooperative owned by 188 nations. It provides its members with financing, expertise and coordination services so they can achieve equitable and sustainable economic growth in their national economies and find effective solutions to pressing regional and global economic and environmental problems. The overriding goal is to achieve major, sustainable improvements in standards of living worldwide. It has been issuing bonds in the international capital markets for over 60 years to fund its activities. Information for investors is available on the World Bank Treasury website: (www.worldbank.org/debtsecurities).

 

Back to Press Releases