About World Bank Treasury  |  FAQ  |  Contact  
|  
  

Press Releases

世界银行在华圆满发行具有里程碑意义的特别提款权债券

2016年8月31日,华盛顿 – 世界银行(国际复兴开发银行,简称IBRD)今天在中国银行间债券市场发行首期特别提款权(简称SDR)计价债券的定价。国际复兴开发银行2016年SDR计价债券(序列之一)(“SDR计价债券”)融资规模为5亿SDR(约相当于6.98亿美元),三年期,票息0.49%,人民币结算。

此SDR计价债券是根据中国人民银行2016年8月12日批准的世界银行新SDR计价债券发行计划发行的,整体规模为20亿SDR(约相当于28亿美元)。

世界银行在中国银行间债券市场发行的SDR债券的联席主承销商为中国工商银行、汇丰银行、中国建设银行和国家开发银行。认购倍数超过2.5,约50份订单来自银行司库(52.4%)、央行和主权机构(29.2%)、证券公司和资产管理公司(12.4%)以及保险公司(6%)。

世界银行副行长兼司库阿伦玛•奥特表示:“通过发行SDR债券发行和建立木兰债券市场支持中国资本和货币市场的国际化,我们深感荣幸。世界银行很高兴成为首个为投资者提供参与这一创新型投资产品机会发行人,从而支持世界各国的可持续发展。我们感谢中国政府和金融界的合作伙伴的良好合作。”

交易概要

发行人
世界银行
(国际复兴开发银行,IBRD)
发行人评级
Aaa/AAA
期限 3年期
发行期 2016 2016年8月31日至2016年9月2日
发行规模 5亿SDR
结算日 2016 2016年9月2日
票息 年息0.49%
付息日 每年9月2日付息
到期日 2019年9月2日
发行价 100%
发行收益率 0.49%
结算、清算和托管 银行间市场清算所股份有限公司(又名“上海清算所”)
适用法律 中华人民共和国法律
牵头簿记管理人 中国工商银行
联席簿记管理人 汇丰银行(中国)有限公司
联席主承销商 中国建设银行和国家开发银行
银团成员 中国农业银行、中国银行、交通银行、招商银行、进出口银行、宁波银行、杭州银行、中国国际金融股份有限公司、中信证券、东海证券、三菱东京日联银行(中国)、花旗银行(中国)

联席主承销商引语:

中国工商银行总行副行长胡浩
说:“我们非常感谢世界银行对工行的信任及委任工行担当此次具有历史意义发行项目的牵头簿记管理人。这是全球首次公募发行以SDR计价的债券,也是世界银行首次进入中国境内银行间市场发行债券融资。工行最终很好的完了这一历史性任务。未来工行期待协助更多海外发行人来境内发行熊猫债券和木兰债券。”

汇丰银行债务资本市场环球联席主管陈乃斌说:“我们很高兴能与世界银行和其他联席主承销商紧密合作,安排设计此次特别提款权债券,推动人民币融资市场进一步发展。本次债券的成功发行彰显了投资者对新型债券结构和多元化的需求。随着中国资本市场不断地向海外投资开放,汇丰将继续为希望进入中国市场的客户提供创新型解决方案。”

中国建设银行余静波副行长说:“热烈祝贺世界银行在中国成功发行首笔SDR债券,这为中国债券资本市场开启了新的篇章。建设银行对于能够参与并促成此次发行深感荣幸。我们将以此为契机,进一步深化与世界银行和其他国际机构的交流,开展更大、更全面、更好的合作。”

国家开发银行张旭光副行长说: “国开行为中国境内市场首只SDR债券成功发行付出了很大努力。近年来中国债券市场发展迅速,对外开放程度不断提升,国开行愿以本次承销SDR债为契机,与世行在促进开发性金融事业发展和推动全球经济复苏等方面深入开展合作,同时继续努力扩大SDR应用范围,推动人民币国际化进程。”

金杜律师事务所(King & Wood Mallesons)担任世界银行债券发行的法律顾问。

SDR(特别提款权)是国际货币基金组织于1969年创设的用于补充其成员国官方储备的一种国际储备资产。SDR的价值目前是基于四种主要货币,即,美元、欧元、日元和英镑。中国的人民币将于2016年10月1日加入SDR储备货币篮子。

世界银行(IBRD)每年通过向投资者提供20多种货币的债券,在国际资本市场筹集500-600亿美元资金。在中国发行SDR债券的新计划是世界银行开发和支持新市场发展战略的组成部分,它将扩展世界银行的产品种类,吸引新的国内和国际投资者购买世界银行债券。

世界银行(国际复兴开发银行,英文简称IBRD),评级为Aaa/AAA(穆迪/标普),是创建于1944年的一个国际组织,也是世界银行集团的创始成员。世行作为由189个成员国共同拥有的全球性开发合作机构,向其成员国提供资金、专业知识和协调服务,助其在国民经济中实现公平和可持续的经济增长,并寻找针对地区和全球性经济及环境紧迫问题的有效解决方案。世界银行有两大目标:消除极端贫困和促进共享繁荣。世行主要通过向中等收入国家及其他资信可靠的国家中的借款成员国政府提供贷款、风险管理产品和发展经验,协调区域与全球行动,应对挑战,实现目标。世行60多年来在国际资本市场发行可持续发展债券,筹资开展工作并产生积极成效。世界银行司库局网站为投资者提供关于世界银行债券的信息,网址为:www.worldbank.org/debtsecurities。

重要注释:此处所提供的信息不应视为对所涉及债券的推荐,而只是提供一般性信息,并非建议购买该债券、邀约出售或发行该债券,或者诱导投资者购买该债券、邀请投标或认购该债券。本新闻稿中的任何内容以及发布该新闻稿这一事实,不应作为任何合约或承诺或任何投资决策的基准或依据。此处所涉及到债券的任何发行和发售将完全依据世界银行准备的债券发售通函。投资债券的决定不应仅只依据新闻稿,而应依据发售通函做出。该债券仅面向中华人民共和国(不包括香港、澳门特别行政区和中国台湾)银行间债券市场的机构投资者发售。

___________________________________________________

媒体联系人

华盛顿
Serene Jweied

电话: +1 (202) 473-8764
sjweied@worldbankgroup.org

北京
李莉

电话: 86-10-58617850
lli2@worldbank.org

About World Bank Treasury  |  FAQ  |  Contact  
|  
  

Press Releases

World Bank Successfully Prices Oversubscribed Landmark
SDR Denominated Bond in China

Washington, DC, August 31, 2016 – The World Bank (International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, IBRD) today priced the very first Special Drawing Rights (“SDR”)-denominated bond in the PRC National Interbank Bond Market (the “Interbank Market”). The International Bank for Reconstruction and Development 2016 SDR Denominated Bonds (Series 1) (the “SDR Denominated Bond”) raised SDR 500 million (approximately equivalent to USD 700 million), have a maturity of 3 years and a coupon of 0.49% per annum. All payments will be made in Chinese renminbi (RMB).

The SDR Denominated Bonds were issued under the World Bank’s new SDR Denominated Issuance Program that was approved on August 12, 2016, by the People’s Bank of China (PBOC), with a total size of SDR 2 billion (approximately equivalent to USD 2.8 billion).

The joint lead managers for the SDR Denominated Bonds in the Interbank Market are Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited, HSBC Bank (China) Company Limited, China Construction Bank Corporation and China Development Bank Corporation. The bonds were 2.5 times oversubscribed with around 50 orders from bank treasuries (53%), central banks and official institutions (29%), securities companies and asset managers (12%), and insurance companies (6%).

“We are honored to support China in its efforts to internationalize its capital and currency markets through the launching of an SDR bond issue and the new Mulan market,” said Arunma Oteh, World Bank Vice President and Treasurer. “It is truly a pleasure for the World Bank to be the first to offer investors an opportunity to participate in this innovative investment product that supports sustainable development worldwide. We are grateful for the excellent collaboration with the Chinese authorities and financial partners.”

Transaction Summary:

Issuer:
World Bank
(International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, IBRD)
Issuer rating:
Aaa/AAA
Maturity: 3 years
Offering period: August 31, 2016 to September 2, 2016
Amount: 500 million SDRs
Settlement date: September 2, 2016
Coupon: 0.49% per annum
Coupon payment dates: Paid annually on September 2 of each year, in Chinese Renminbi
Maturity date: September 2, 2019, payments made in Chinese Renminbi
Issue price: 100%
Issue yield: 0.49%
Settlement, clearing and custodian: Interbank Market Clearing House Co., Ltd (also known as the “Shanghai Clearing House”)
Law: People's Republic of China law
ISIN: CND10000BPQ1
Lead bookrunner: Industrial and Commercial Bank of China, Ltd.
Co-bookrunner: HSBC Bank (China) Company Limited
Joint lead underwriters: China Construction Bank Corporation and China Development Bank Corporation
Syndicate group members: Agricultural Bank of China Limited, Bank of China Limited, Bank of Communications Co., Ltd., China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd., The Export-Import Bank of China, Bank of Ningbo Company Limited, Bank Of Hangzhou Co., Ltd., China International Capital Corporation Limited, CITIC Securities Company Limited, Donghai Securities Co., Ltd., Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ (China), Ltd. and Citibank (China) Co., Ltd.

Joint lead manager quotes:
“We really appreciate that IBRD trusts the Industrial & Commercial Bank of China (ICBC) and appointed ICBC as the lead bookrunner for this landmark transaction. The IBRD 2016 SDR denominated bond is the first ever publicly issued SDR bond worldwide and it is also the first bond for the World Bank in the China onshore interbank market. ICBC has played a key role in the success of this historical issuance. In the future, ICBC expects to assist more foreign issuers to fund in the Panda and Mulan Market,” said Hu Hao, Vice President, ICBC.

“We are delighted to have worked closely with the World Bank to arrange this SDR bond and bring further developments to the RMB financing market. The success of the transaction provides a strong signal of investor appetite for new structures and diversification. As China further opens up its capital markets to international investors, HSBC continues to bring innovation to clients wishing to access the Chinese market,” said Alexi Chan, Global Co-Head, Debt Capital Markets, HSBC.

“We warmly congratulate the successful launch of the World Bank’s SDR bonds in China’s interbank market, which opens up a whole new era for China’s debt capital market. China Construction Bank (CCB) is deeply honored to facilitate this deal and contribute to make it happen. We will take this opportunity to increase our engagement with the World Bank and other international organizations to broaden our cooperation in a more comprehensive way,” said Yu Jingbo, Vice President of CCB.

“China Development Bank (CDB) has made tremendous efforts for the successful issuance of the very first SDR-denominated bond in the China interbank market. We are pleased to see that the SDR bonds are issued in China's fast-growing and more open bond market. As one of the joint lead managers for the SDR bond, CDB stands ready to deepen the cooperation with the World Bank in contributing to development finance and global recovery. In the meantime, we remain committed to expanding the use of SDRs and promoting the RMB internationalization," said Zhang Xuguang, Executive Vice President of CDB.

The law firm of King & Wood Mallesons (Hong Kong and Beijing) acted as counsel for the World Bank on the bond issue.

SDRs (Special Drawing Rights) are an international reserve asset created by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in 1969 to supplement its member countries' official reserves. The value of the SDR is currently based on four major currencies: the U.S. dollar, euro, Japanese yen and British pound. The Chinese renminbi will join the SDR basket of reserve currencies on October 1, 2016.

The World Bank (IBRD) raises USD 50-60 billion in the international capital markets each year, by offering investors a variety of products in over 20 currencies. The new SDR program in China is part of the World Bank’s strategy to open and support the development of new markets and will expand World Bank’s product offerings, attracting new domestic and international investors to World Bank bonds.

________________________________________________
The World Bank (International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, IBRD), rated Aaa/AAA (Moody’s/S&P), is an international organization created in 1944 and the original member of the World Bank Group. The World Bank Group consists of 5 legally separate organizations: International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) – also known as “World Bank”, the International Development Association (IDA), the International Finance Corporation (IFC), the Multilateral Investment Guarantee Association (MIGA), and the International Center for the Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID). IBRD is the largest member of the World Bank Group and operates as a global development cooperative owned by 189 nations to provide its members with financing, expertise and coordination services so they can achieve equitable and sustainable economic growth in their national economies and find effective solutions to pressing regional and global economic and environmental problems. The World Bank Group has two main goals: to end extreme poverty and promote shared prosperity. IBRD seeks to achieve them primarily by providing loans, risk management products, and expertise on development-related disciplines to its borrowing member government clients in middle-income countries and other creditworthy countries, and by coordinating responses to regional and global challenges. IBRD has been issuing sustainable development bonds in the international capital markets for over 60 years to fund its activities that achieve a positive impact. Information on World Bank (IBRD) bonds for investors is available on the World Bank Treasury website: www.worldbank.org/debtsecurities.

Important Notice: The information set forth herein does not constitute a recommendation of the bonds referred to. It merely provides information of a general nature and is not a recommendation to acquire the bonds, an offer to sell or issue the bonds or the solicitation of an offer to purchase or invitation to tender or subscribe for the bonds. No part of this press release, nor the fact of its distribution, should form the basis of, or be relied on in connection with, any contract or commitment or investment decision whatsoever. Any offer and sale of the bonds referred to herein will solely take place on the basis of an offering circular prepared by the World Bank in connection with the bonds. A decision to invest in the bonds must not be made solely in reliance on this press-release but should be taken on the basis of the offering circular. The bonds will only be offered to institutional investors of the National Interbank Bond Market in the People’s Republic of China (excluding Hong Kong, the Macau Special Administrative Region and Taiwan, China).

Contact:

Serene Jweied, +1 (202) 473-8764, sjweied@worldbankgroup.org